Hi, I am a 20 yr old college student who recently loss some weight. I try to eat as healthy as possible (with a few indulgences-whoops) and I try to get in an hour of activity everyday (even if it’s just walking) including pilates 2x a week. I don’t want to lose any more weight (as in scale number) but I still have belly rolls that I am uncomfortable with, especially since I am only 5’2 and I have a small frame. How can I take off the fat without going below my weight (for health purposes since currently I am at the low end of a healthy weight (but not underweight-I just don’t want to fall into the category).

thanks, Elaina

Ooo, this one’s easy.  WEIGHTS!

You are looking to improve the quality of your body mass, not lower it, so you need to switch the fat you have on your body to equal parts muscle.

Now, despite what people like to say, fat doesn’t actually turn into muscle, they are two completely seperate things.  So you must reduce your body fat, and then increase your muscle mass.  The best way to do that?  Diet and strength training.

To figure out how many calories you need in a day to maintain your weight, read this post.  Remember, you are looking to maintain so don’t subtract any numbers in the end- just take your BMR and multiply it by your activity level.  This is the amount of calories you need to not gain or lose weight.

Then, you need to start lifting.  The only way you can gain muscle mass is by over loading your muscles.  Work all your major muscle groups about 3 times per week, never on consecutive days (the rest days is when they heal and get stronger.)  So you can work your whole body every other day or split your muscle groups and alternate working them everyday.  It’s up to you.

To make sure you are lifting efficiently, you need to pick a weight that lets heavy enough that you reach failure in 8-15 reps, which means you cannot do another rep without good form.

Stick with that and you’ll be building muscle whole burning fat and still staying in the same sized pants!

